10 Things I want to try (or do more) in the new year

1.) How to do a fishtail braid. So chic and pretty.

2.) There’s a saying; if you call shit a souffle, don’t be surprised if you have it for dinner. Okay, that’s not really a saying—I made it up. But the meaning is simple: if you pretend everything is fine when you’re really pissed off at the people, situations or decisions in your life, DO something about it or learn to deal. When someone pushes you too far, don’t eat your humble pie….be ballsy, impertinent even.

3.) I want to tour Europe for a week or two. It’s been one of my dreams for a long time, and I’ve been finding myself seeing how much roundtrip tickets and rail passes cost. It’s more than just tourism that appeals to me—in my mind, tooling around in a foreign country (or two, or three) will be the official rite of passage as an adult. I mean, I survived in the bustling NYC last winter without getting lost, perishing or being bamboozled, robbed or raped. In fact, it was quite fun.

4.) Save up for Business school. With one degree behind me, I find myself ready for the next phase. It’s expensive (about 20k total), but with a strict budget and clear plan I think I can make it happen and not end up swimming in debt and buyer’s remorse. And in about 2 years. I waffle back and forth a little bit on exactly what concentration I want, but overall, I think this’ll be a good path. I just wish I’d known what I know now about the economy and general ambitiousness when I was an 18 year old freshman!

5.) Switch phone carriers. Unless T-Mobile’s coverage gets better in its merger with AT&T in the next year, I’m going to hop to a more reliable carrier. It’s not even that much cheaper and, besides, I’m jonesing for an iphone. Oh, white girl problems.

6.) Get rid (or keep out) the negative people who were in my life, and really appreciate the good folks. I’ve got alot going for me and am truly blessed. There’s been some drama this year, but I’ve kept the social garden pretty well-tended since last year and so 2011 has been mostly devoid of oafery.

7.) I’ve been lucky to have been born with good genes and a high metabolism, but that’s no excuse for not working out regularly. Plus, my college has a free gym for its students. I want to get back into the habit of working out once or twice a week, or getting into yoga or the like.

8.) Slowly but surely I want to move out my city and explore new places. I’d like to try Nashville or someplace that’s still close enough to visit my hometown, but far enough away to feel like I’m conquering a new frontier.

9.) I’d like to grocery shop at more farmers markets and health food stores rather then just going with the cheapest common denominator. Investing in your local farmers and home-grown food isn’t just healthier, it’s tastier. I’ve also gotten big into couponing and I’d like to see myself getting even more affluent in the world of savings. All advice welcome

10.) Prepare for settling down with the man I love. ❤

 

okay, and bonus one that may not happen all in one year but I definitely want to make progress: I want to speak atleast 2 other languages fluently. Probably Spanish and German. Maybe French. It’s a good start.

Leave a comment